Reloads jamming in AR 15 Chamber

Spazman137

Hello Everyone and happy new year:

So here is my dilemma: I am not new to reloading however I have been reloading for about 5 years now. I recently started reloading 6 mm arc and ran into an issue with my live reloaded rounds jamming in the chamber and unable to manually extract that round. When I put a factory round in the chamber I can manually extract the with no issue. I took all the correct steps for reloading I believe: Annealed, deprimed and resized, trimmed my brass and all my measurements are within spec. However my Reloaded rounds do go into battery and they do cycle properly I just cannot manually extract my Reloads. so is it safe to say this is ok or not ?

mehavey

Your problem is likely (99%). . .
- Insufficient resizing. (Gas guns should fully-resized/slight cam-over to accommodate press spring) *
- Shoulder-swell from crimping while seating. (Crimp not req'd on 223/AR's. Is the seating die body set to crimp? or adjusted too far down?) *

* Diagnosis: Does a re-sized But_Not_Loaded case chamber and extract OK?

olduser

It is not OK. You need to find the problem and correct it. Is your OAL correct for the bullet you are using? I have seen rounds stick because the bullet is being jammed into the rifling. Try coating the bullet with a black magic marker and chamber it. Remove it and examine the bullet for signs of contact with the bore. If it is contacting to bore just seat a bullet a little deeper and see if that helps.
If it is not the bullet then it has to be a case sizing problem.

ciwsguy

Had a similar issue with 6.5 Grendel and .223 Remington