Reloading with lead bullets

john1911

I thinking about starting to reload my .41 mag and .44 mag with lead bullets. I currently use jacketed bullets and H110 powder. When I started shooting, the guy that helped me out warned not to shoot lead bullets because of leading the bore.

I've been thinking of ordering some cast bullets from Meister. I assume these already have the lube on them? Where can I find data for these bullets? Will pushing these bullets at mild velocity cause leading in the bores? What powders work best with lead bullets?

I would like to try these bullets before I invest in the stuff to cast my own. Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks

Edward429451

My advice is to try to find some boolits sized to .430 and start with those.

I fought leading in my 44 for years until I got clued in to sizing. I cast my own 44 boolits and sized them to .429 and convinced myself that it just didn't matter because I got the performance and accuracy I wanted. Now I size them to .430 and life is better now. I was pushing some lead SWC's over 1400 fps this past weekend and the bore had no lead in it at all.

The Lyman manuals are full of lead boolit data. I use 2400, Unique, and H-110

nate45

I use lead in my .45,.44,.41,.357 leading is not a problem if you have bullets that are properly sized to your pistol.

Leading is caused by flame cutting on the sides of the bullet not the base.

If the bullet fits your barrel right it will form a seal and prevent the sides from being melted and leading your bore.

Here is a good place to buy and learn about lead bullets

http://www.beartoothbullets.com/

I like these as well they are just as good as beartooth.

https://secure25.securewebsession.com/proshootpro.com/index.html this is Leadheads Bullets website.

In .41 mag I use the 230gr Keith Type and in .44 the 250 gr KT. Great bullets they have plain bases and I have no
leading problems even with full magnum loads.

I reload almost exclusively lead, including in my .41 Magnum.