Red dot opinions

jetsfan

I know this has been brought up a lot but I haven't seen any info on the scope I am interested in. I am looking at the Aimpoint Comp C3. The advertisement says it has a 2x magnifier and is a 1MOA scope. Is that true and what are any opinions of it compared to the M3 aimpoint offers?
Thanks

Jermtheory

the C3 comes with a 2 or 4 moa dot and has no magnification.there are different magnifiers you can use with it though.

unless you plan on using night vision or diving with it,it should do everything you need that the M3 line will do.

jetsfan

The C3 on cheaper than dirt says its a 2x magnification and 1MOA but everything I read says 2 MOA. I was looking at the AIM-11422 model. What does the 2x magnification mean if its a non magnifying scope? Sorry guys I'm new to these Aimpoints and this one caught my interest.

Jermtheory

got a link?

sure its not a 9000 maybe?

i have seen mention of another C3...C3-SM maybe?but i thought it was like 7 moa and still 1x.

the basic Comp C3 is 2 or 4 MOA(your choice) and 1x.

Jermtheory

never seen that before...not listed on the Aimpoint site either IIRC.

it definately looks as if there is some kind of magnifier mounted on the front though.

the 2x magnification and 1 moa dot should make for a little better distance/precision shooting(over a standard C3 or M series at 2/4 moa and 1x),but it will be a little slower...little heavier im sure.

jetsfan

On the aimpoint site if you look under accessories it says some are available as 2x models. I didn't know what it was so I was curious. It does seem the C3 will fit my needs as its a range gun and only in rain or rare occasions. From what I can tell there isn't many options better for the under $400 price range.

Jermtheory

im going to a micro now,but if i buy another full size it will be a C3 (2 moa-1x).