Recommend a shotgun for approx $400-$500

hayek

I have never owned a shotgun. I have shot one a few times. I do own various rifles and handguns and have been shooting for over 15 years.

Now I have an interest in adding my first shotgun to my collection. I don't want to spend a lot of money because I am currently purchasing rifles that will soon be banned once obama or mccain are elected. I am interested in spending about $400-$500.

A pump shot-gun will be okay. I would really like a semi-auto shotgun if there is one in my price range, though I haven't seen any yet. I am guessing I will go with 12 gauge. It will be used primarily for home defense and possibly some hunting in the near future- but mostly home defense. I can always buy a second shotgun for hunting if there will be a difference.

If you have a suggestion or two, I would sure like to hear it. I admit it, I'm a shotgun newbie.

RoscoeC

In your price range I recently bought the Stoeger M2000. Plain, not pretty, but solid as a rock and only $399.00 from Dick's Sporting goods.

If you would like a gas gun, I have heard good things about the Mossberg 930.

Either of these would serve you well for an inexpensive autoloader.

Gas operated guns (i.e. Mossberg) have less perceived recoil than Intertia operated guns (Stoeger). The Inertia guns are easier to clean and maintain.

For super solid ruggedness, the Remington 870 pump or the Mossberg 500 pumps are classics. For me these are like an old F150 truck. Not real pretty, but they always start, and they always seem to haul your butt out of trouble.

Just my opinion based on my experience. You will get others.

Welcome to the world of shotgunning. It is lots of fun.

Juhosaphat