Rear sight immoveable in dovetail

Sid

I have a CZ 27 in .32 ACP. I want to move the rear sight to correct the point of impact but it will not move. I have been tapping on it quite hard with brass rods but it remains frozen in place. I have thought about using Kroil in the dovetail to loosen things up. I really don't know if that would help.

Any suggestions would be deeply appreciated. TIA

AustinTX

Didn't people already tell you to get a sight pusher?

You could use Kroil if it seems like some corrosion is inhibiting movement (probably the case with iron sights on an old gun). I'm no expert on changing sights, but at least some guns have dovetails that only permit sights to be drifted out/in in a single direction. Make sure you're doing it in the right direction.

rock185

Sid, I never had a CZ 27, but have removed and installed quite a few dovetailed sights on a variety of pistols over the last couple of decades. Some R and R from the right, some, especially Euro pistols, from the left. I use blue masking tape on the slide to help prevent any marking/marring of the slide, and then secure the slide in a padded vise before trying to drift the sight. I do use lube on the sight dovetail before I try to move the sight. I start with a nylon drift, then to aluminum, brass drifts,etc. if the nylon type will not move the sight. If you have to go to a steel drift, plan on damaging the sight. On occasion, I have encountered sights that I could not move with a sight pusher. On at least one occasion, I had a sight I could not move, even with a steel drift. I ended up milling out the sight. Good luck with your efforts sir, some of those dovetailed sights are real stinkers to move.....ymmv

Sid

I have a vise with nylon inserts for gunsmithing. The slide is locked in this while I am trying to move the rear sight. Tonight I am going to start using Kroil. I will keep this up for a couple of days and then see what happens.

Ralph Allen