Reagan Airport figured out.

Hippie

If it is suppose to be so safe to fly why hasnt this airport reopened? Recent news say it will open next week. My bet is they are trying to get at least 3 or 4 Skymarshalls on every flight coming and going before it opens. There are so few marshals now they just cant do it. Bottom line they want to protect the capital at all cost, but oppose pilots with guns.
The opposition to pilots or crew being armed is ludricrus as well. Now the pilots cant use deadly force to maintain control of the aircraft. But jets can shoot em down and kill em all...stupid logic. I heard em today talking about perhaps giving them stun guns. The same arguments against firearms really apply to stun guns as well. So much for intelligence in government. I wont fly again unless the pilots are armed.

ajaxinacan

As I posted on another board, I am not a lawyer, but:

I am an aviation professional, and I know of no FAR (Federal Air Regulation) that prevents the pilot of an aircraft being armed. I think many people assume that is the case, but I sincerely belive it is not. I spend a lot of time buried in the FARs as part of my job, and I have never encountered one that dealt with the issue.

That said, I think a commercial pilot would be governed by his employer, and a private pilot could be armed at his discretion. Whether or not local law would apply on interstate air travel is an issue that has probably not been tested in court.

So, don't let anyone tell you that the FARs, or more generally, the FAA prohibits pilots from being armed. That is not the case in law, as far as this non-lawyer aircraft fixer knows.

sw627pc