Range report: S&W 99 vs. S&W m&p

Axion

Today I went to the range with my sig 229 .40, and since I had a free rental I asked to rent a M&P in 9mm because I've been wanting to try one out for a while. Well by accident the guy at the counter handed me a S&W 99. I didn't notice until I started shooting (because it was cased when he handed it to me) so I shot it for a bit before exchanging it for the M&P I intended to rent. At the end of the day here's what I had to say.

1) Recoil: M&P definitely had the softest recoil but while the SW99 was snappier it seemed to get back on target faster for me. Hard to put into words but it felt like the SW99 snapped up quick and then came back to point quick where as with the M&P everything happened slower. The Sig, being a .40 definitely had the most kick but I could still shot it just as fast as the other two while maintaining decent accuracy. The fact that I'm used to it probably doesn't hurt.

2) Fit: Here the SW99 REALLY impressed me. Something about it just felt so right and it pointed extremely naturally, this probably has something to do with why it seemed to get back on target so fast. As always I love the way the Sig feels in my hand, but I think the fit of the SW99 might actually be better in terms of how it makes me shoot. The m&p was nice.