Range report for a new Savage

jersey joe

I am new to this but I will give it a go. I waited for a Savage 116 in .270 with Accustock for four months and finally received it about three weeks ago. This was my second trip to the range and I am happy as a clam. I am no seasoned pro but if I can shoot this then I can only imagine how others can make it perform. I have a Leupold III 3x10x40 on it and I was shooting Federal box ammo 130 grain soft point. These four shots were made at 100 yards and were targeted for a 200 yard zero. Trust me, it was the rifle!

Attachments

• P1010293.jpg
    P1010293.jpg
    226.8 KB · Views: 270

Fat White Boy

Good shooting! The .270 caliber is inherently accurate. It is my favorite hunting round. I use stock 130 gr Corelokt with smilar results. All my other calibers, I had to fool around until I found the best load. The .270 was good from the get-go...

dogngun

I love Savage rifles - hard to go wrong,

Never had a .270, but might start thinking about it....
Nice shooting!

mark

flashhole

Very nice - I've been hoping to run into someone at the range with a new accustock rifle. I think Savage has a winner with the way the gun is assembled. Savage just keeps getting better and better. It's probably time I bought one. I've been favoring the small calibers lately and am on the lookout for a 222 Remington. I wonder when they will put the accustock on the smaller stuff?

jersey joe

Thanks all.
One thing worth mentioning is that I believe the target helped me to hold a consistent center. I found that when shooting at a circle I could be 'on' and still be off by fractions of an inch. With this target I could line up the scope cross hairs with the target vertical and horizontal much easier. I realize this is akin to cheating because animals don't come similarly marked. Nonetheless it was a great confidence builder.

flashhole