Questions on benchrest shooting .375H&H

phil mcwilliam

I went to the range yesterday to sight in & try various factory ammunition in my newly acquired CZ550 Safari Classic chambered in .375H&H Magnum & topped with a Leupold 2-7x33 scope.
After getting on paper at 50 yards, I started shooting 3 shot groups at 100 yards, between adjustments. I was happy in that the 3 shot groups using 300 grain Federal ammunition were all around 1 1/2 inches, with one group coming in at 3/4 inch.
After firing 20 of the federal 300 grain rounds, I swapped to Hornady 270 grain rounds. After firing another 20 rounds of the Hornady, I found my groups had opened up, with the last 2 shots not even being on target.
I was actually complemented on the way my rifle grouped by the guys either side of me at the range, who had witnessed my earlier groups through their spotting scopes, but I didn't let on that my last couple of shots had not even hit paper.
I decided to call it a day after 40 shots & went home to contemplate things. At home checked scope to see if it was tight, which it is. I then got to thinking that maybe my accuracy was falling off after firing 40 shots of .375 H&H magnum in around an hour.
I know my questions will be answered on my next sighting in trip- purchased another 4 boxes of federal 270 grain rounds to try next time, but how many rounds do you benchresters shoot in one sitting, when shooting a .375 H&H Magnum?

Last edited:

Creeper

There should be only a modest point of impact change between 300 and 270 grain cartridges at 100 yds.

The number of rounds isn't really relevant (at least not to the gun)... a dramatic change in point of impact however, is.

Is this a new gun? Are you breaking in the barrel, and cleaning between X shots... or did you just shoot 40 rounds with no cleaning at all? :(
To be honest, even that wouldn't cause a grouping gun to open up completely off paper... so I'm leaning towards a mechanical issue.