Question regarding CCW cross-border discrimination and Saenz v Roe 1999, US Supreme Court...

Jim March

Folks,

I'm now an Alabama resident and long haul trucker.

Right now the states of California, Oregon, New York and Illinois won't honor my AL carry permit (which I have) AND won't allow me to apply for permits in those states - I'm statutorily barred from applying purely because I'm an AL resident.

Saenz v Roe was about cross-border discrimination. People had moved into California and were being given welfare benefits that were the same as the state they recently came from, as opposed to the higher numbers a longer-term California resident would get.

The US Supreme Court in Saenz found that this policy was a violation of people's right to free travel and rights under the 14th Amendment's privileges and immunities clause.

Why does this matter? A bit more history is necessary...

In the US Supreme Court decision in Ward v Maryland 1870, the 14th Amendment came before the US Supreme Court for the very first time. Ward was a businessman from New Jersey operating in Maryland and being hit with extra taxes because he wasn't an MD resident. He refused to pay the extra taxes, got fined, sued MD and won.

In that case the Supremes said that cross-border discrimination was named under the privileges or immunities clause of the 14th.

A couple of years later the US Supreme Court decision in Slaughterhouse Cases infamously said that the ONLY thing the PorI clause of the 14th does was act as a barrier to cross-border discrimination.

*Slaughterhouse is still good case law for that proposition.*

Stay with me here.