Question for LEO's

Drunk Fat Man

I am currently a Criminal Justice student at the University of Toledo. I am enrolled in a writing class and would appreciate your thoughts. The class is about written forms of communication.

1. What typical documents do you LEO's write? (reports, booking, etc.) If
reports what kind are they? (What is there function?)

2. What kind of writing is used? (email, letters, reports, memos, etc.)

3. Approximately how much time is spent writing each day?

I would truely appreciate your respones.

Sir William

TONS! It is agency dependent. There are briefings, policy and procedure changes, training attendance, FOF sessions, wanted packets and even weapons, vehicles and other equipment check out forms and documents. That is only the beginning. There are forms for everything. There are even generic fill in the blank forms for when there are not forms. MDTS have many paperless documentation capabilities today. Detectives have to log pretty much every breathing moment. Even corrections have many forms and logs to maintain.

sendec

The rule of thumb is that every, and I mean every, activity is documented, down to bathroom breaks and gassing the cruiser. FYI, in your state a police academy student gets 12 hours of report writing classes, versus 4 hours for how to conduct patrol - that should give you some idea of the importance placed on writing skills.

This is just a wild guess but I'd bet that on the average at least 25% of an officer's time is spent writing - logs, citations, reports, supplements, it just never ends.

Capt. Charlie

Moderator Emeritus
This is just a wild guess but I'd bet that on the average at least 25% of an officer's time is spent writing