Question about CCW and leaving weapon in the car....

gddyup

Welp, I just got my CCW about 2 weeks ago and finished my Handgun Orientation class at Sigarms Academy yesterday. Now I'm looking to buy my first handgun and I plan on carrying, most likely IWB, once I decide what pistol I'd like to buy. My question is in regards to what I should do when I go to work. I am a full-time firefighter and for legal reasons we are not allowed to have any firearm on or in the firehouse for any reason. If I'm going to carry, then I'm going all the way and I will have it on me when I get to work...

What, if any, are the laws regarding having the firearm in the car? Could I lock it in a smal pistol safe under my seat and be legal? I haven't found anything that leads me to believe that I could get in trouble for doing this, but I wanted to run it by people who may have or may be in a similar situation. The only other option would be for me to leave the pistol at home and that, to me, doesn't sound like the best case scenario in my situation.

Any thoughts?

chuckt

You would be fine doing that in New hampshire. If you are concerned about the laws around here check out www.packing.org they have some great info. How was the academy? I have been thinking of going.

Rich636

Someone on this forum or another locked their CCW gun to the seat bracket in their car with a pair of handcuffs.

fastforty

I lock mine to the under seat rail with a Master cable lock. Clear weapon, lock slide back, drop cable down through magazine well & secure under seat.

gddyup

Thanks for the replies guys. I'll double check the laws here and make sure it's ok, but it seems like locking it in the car shouldn't be a problem.