Question About Ballistics

pipoman

I am a novice when it comes to bullet weights, fps, velocity, etc.

My question is what is the benefit of using hollow point +P rounds over fmj ammo?

Today I shot my .38 into a stack of license plates. I used Winchester White Box 125 gr JHP +P and American Eagle 130 gr FMJ not +P.

The JHP +P penetrated 7 plates with each of 2 rounds. They did expand some, not as much as I expected.

The FMJ penetrated 10 plates with each of 2 rounds. They didn't expand at all and pretty much maintained their shape.

I expected the JHP +P to penetrate at least as far as the FMJ. Now I wonder why bother with JHP +P at all. Would the rounds react completely differently if fired into flesh? Would the expansion, though minor, have enough of an effect to justify their use?

Any explanation would be appreciated.

38rounds.jpg

RsqVet

Briefly, as I can not do justice to this topic in any sort of compleate way --

1. much of our questions can be addressed in perhaps way more detail than you want in old threads found by using the search function -- in specific regard to FMJ vs. JHP on thin metal I'm not suprised at all the FMJ will do better in most penetration tests than a JHP esp. one with a soft exposed lead nose --- however there is much more to consider and penetration of sheet metal is not an especally relevent test to terminal stopping power of man or beast --- geletin is typiccaly used for this.

2. Any sort of expanding ammo is designed to get bigger and hence do more damage --- i.e. make the 38 cal bullet the size of a 45 once it hits fleash and hence cut a bigger swatch through the BG you are truing to stop hench increasing your chance of acomplishing that --- this is desierable no matter what caliber you chose to carry.