Quality sd rounds

rocky.223

This being my first post on here i would like to thank all of you for your time and responses! I am relatively new to fire arms but am spending a lot of time reading and researching. I Recently bought an FNP 9 mm for target shooting. It will be in a small vault by my bed so was thinking to have some sd rounds for home. There seem to be a lot of them out there and ammunition is a very broad subject.
So the question is what 9mm round would best be used for home defense?
(god forbid i ever need to!) also what is +P versus normal?

Thanks again all!:)

ChileVerde1

Walmart and other retailers sell good quality JHPs for 9mm in fifty count boxes from Winchester and Remington. I believe they may even have 100 count boxes but I can't remember. That stuff is good quality ammo at a reasonable price. Don't get sucked into the marketing schemes from various companies and individuals who "swear" the the "X Brand" or whatever else is in vogue.... is the absolute best defensive round.

I get a quarterly issue of about 150+rds of .40 cal for proficiency and qualifications from my agency. The manufacurers vary by whoever has the contract at the time. Currently it's Federal (155gr Brass case - not Hydroshok). They have also issued us Winchester and the blasty Remington Golden Saber in the past too. I have to buy my 9mm and I have to say that those 50-100 count boxes of JHP's at Walmart have nothing to envy from the stuff the govt issues. Contrary to popular belief, I've yet to be issued anything in a nickel case or anything with polymer tips or any other nonsense.