Pump Action?

TPAW

Suddenly I've got this urge to own a pump action rifle in .308. Although I've been hunting and punching holes in paper for many years, I've never had one before.
Any suggestions as to where I should focus my sights on which one to purchase would be helpful. Price should be between $ 500.00 and $ 800.00

Thanks for your input.

Creeper

It's not like you have a lot of choices in recently manufactured rifles. The Remington 7600 and the Browning BPR... the latter being the better made and typically more accurate of the two... IMO.

C

Mobuck

A pump action is probably the worst choice possible for shooting from a rest. Since the forearm is usually a little loose and must be pumped for every shot, it will nost lay well on the front rest.
I started deer hunting with a Rem 760. At this time, the only pump I would look at would be the 76?? that takes AR mags and then only if I lived in one of the oppressive areas that restrict the ownership of a semauto.

Jack O'Conner

This local shop has 4 used but not abused Remington slide action rifles in 30-06. Prices are negotiable.

MUSSER'S Outdoors
Ephrata, PA
717 738 4800​

TR

twobit

The auction sites are a good place to find a good used Remington 760. I shot one in the 1960's as my first deer rifle. It was a .270 . I have one now in 30-06 as a hog rifle. I've always had a Remington 870 shotgun around and the operation and location of the slide release and safety button are so similar in the 760 and 870 that your muscle memory thinks they are the same. The 7600 came after the 760 and is almost identical but I prefer the older 760's.

About what was said as a pump gun and bench shooting...very true. Gun must be removed from the rest after each shot to cycle another round. Not as handy as a bolt action if all you do is bench shoot.

jaysouth