Problems with my 870

scorpion_tyr

I'm fairly new to shotguns so correct me if my terminology is off. :) Took my Remington 870 Express Super Magnum to the range today. It was a beat up gun I bough cheap at a pawn shop and I turned it into a HD gun. I did notice some problems today that hopefully can be fixed pretty easy. I went through about 100 rounds of 2.75" shells (mixed sizes of shots), 15 rounds of 3.5" 00BK, and 5 rounds of 3" 1BK. I had no problems with the 3" shells, but there were only 5 of them. Any help or suggestions would be deeply appreciated.

Failure to Chamber. Every 15 rounds or so I'd fire, slide the pump back, shell would eject just fine, chamber would close, I'd pull the trigger, no bang. Open the chamber, no shell. Try to chamber another round, sometimes it would, sometimes it wouldn't. Always worked on the 3rd try.

Failure to Feed. I only two of these, and both while shooting 3.5" shells. Only about half the shell would come out of the magazine tube and I had to pull it out with my fingers the rest of the way.

Failure to Eject. This only happened once. Again with 3.5" shells. Shot, slid the pump back and noticed no shell came out. The shell was still fully seated in the chamber. It was the second to last shot so I took the shell that was waiting to be chambered out, and ran the action through again. Still no ejection. Before I went back to the table, I tried it again and it worked.

Double Ejection. This is the weird one to me. I've tried to duplicate it while cycling the action slowly so I can see what's happening. It never duplicates. All I know is that about every 20 rounds I slide the pump back and the empty shell comes out, along with the next fresh one. This happened with both 2.75" shells of all shot sizes and with 3.5" 00BK.

I only ran 8 rounds of 2.75" birdshot through it when I first bought it, and there were no problems. If it helps here's what I did to it prior to shooting today: