Problems with lock on S&W 329!

dairycreek

Earlier today my son-in-law and I were shooting some of my reloads and his S&W 329 just froze. We examined it and found that the lock mechanism had engaged. Used the lock key and turned it off but, after a few more rounds, it happened again. The reloads were quite mild and the 329 has no more than 300 rounds through it so we are quite concerned. Have any of you had any trouble with the lock mechanism on your S&W revos? If you did have trouble what did you do about it? Any and all comments and suggestions are welcome.

Sarge

Dairy,

While I have no personal experience with lock-equipped S&W's (won't buy one) I am a member at S&W Forum where this thread exists for the express purpose of documenting these events as accurately as possible.

First, I'd like to suggest that you read through it. There's a lot of good info & photos there, excellent photos of the mechanism itself, and you'll get an idea of what to expect fro S&W on the service issue. Second, it would be great if you or your son-in-law could register over there, and add your experience. There are some who contend that lock-related failures 'never happen' and the prospective buyer needs an easily-referenced database of failures to review before making a purchase.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

BikerRN

My Thunder Ranch Revolver locked up when I first fired it, and again dry firing it at the gunshop where I bought it, when I returned it to them to investigate it.

They sent the gun back to S&W for me and S&W "fixed it" and shipped it back to me. What keeps me buying S&W's is the warranty and Customer Service.

Since I've gotten my Thunder Ranch Revolver back it has not failed on me, but S&W "claims" there was no issue with the lock. They did however replace the firing pin and mainspring.