Problems and complaints (mild rant)

James K

Member In Memoriam
Hi, guys and gals,

I have only been a certified "gun nut" for about 50+ years, so I guess I am a newbie, but there is one thing I really don't understand. An awful lot of posts, mostly on this forum, are complaints that this or that gun failed, broke, didn't work, fell apart, or otherwise didn't do what it should do. Many people who have returned such guns to the factory praise the maker's customer service, or fast turnaround, or nice work in fixing the problem.

But no one seems to wonder why guns, some of them quite high priced, can't be made to work right. An 80 year old design is not rocket science; even the newest handgun technology is pretty simple stuff. A target pistol or rifle that doesn't work is a figurative pain; a defense pistol that doesn't work can result in a very literal pain or maybe the end of all pain. Customer service doesn't mean much to a corpse with a broken pistol in its hand.

Yet, you not only keep buying the junk, you keep praising people who can't do the job right in the first place, the job you pay them to do with your money. You keep finding excuses for the maker of deficient products. You keep believing makers who tell you that they make only the best, even while you are complaining about their products failing.

I don't understand. If you bought a car that was in the shop more than on the road, you would scream bloody murder to everyone, not talk about how nice the service manager is.

Jim

Bert125