Primer Talk?

Dead-Nuts-Zero

I am new to the semi auto handgun world. I have some background in wheel guns, shotguns and rimfires. As I am looking for a fair and competitive place to purchase my .40 and now .380 ammo, I am reading about Boxer primed or box primer or something along this line. Could some of you give me a handle on what this is? I don't believe I have encountered this term before. I have done plenty of hand loading but it was many years ago. Didn't hear it back then, not that I can remember anyway. :confused: Boxers or Briefs?

Thanks

9x19

The two most common types of primers are Boxer and Berdan.

Boxer is used in all US commercial ammunition, and has a single flash-hole in the bottom of the case and the anvil (3 pronged metal piece which serves to crush the priming compound between it and the primer cup) is contained in the primer.

Berdan is found in alot of military surplus ammunition, and has two flash-holes either side of the center of the primer. IIRC, the anvil is part of the case, not part of the primer.

Hal

9x19 covered it.

If you reload or save your brass for a reloader use Boxer.

If you do happen to use any Berdan or suspect it may be (looking down inot a fired case and seeing two flash holes), be kind to range brass scroungers and pick up as much of your fired brass as you can find and dispose of it. You'll be saving a fellow shooter from a petty annoyance up to a possible broken decapping pin on their press.

The weird part of the Boxer/Berdan is that Berdan was an American and Boxer was a European. - - but - - Boxer primed is the most common in America, while Berdan was once the most common in Europe.. go figure.

Dead-Nuts-Zero

I think you have me started in the right direction here. Your post's have given me a place to start. But I don't think I fully understand this yet. I am going to see if I am on the right track here.