Predator Call

Dean C

My son bought a predator call for coyote hunting. To be honest, I've never used one or even been around someone who has. To me the darn thing sounds like a "party horn". Does it call the yotes to look for a wounded animal or a party? Or perhaps a wounded party animal.

Seriously, what are they supposed to sound like and how do you use them?

flumixed,
dean

beenthere

Predator call

Good question. We're getting a lot of coyotes around northern Indiana and I'm planning on hunting for them this spring. I have read on here that for close in calling a dog or cats "squeaky" toy works good but I suspect that's for under 100 yards. I'll be watching for what kind of knowledgeable response you get. I can get educated too. :)

Twycross

I am by no means an expert, but I have a predator call and have seen them in action. I have never personally used mine in the field, since whoever I'm with always seems to get theirs out and start tooting first, but here are my observations, for what they're worth.

Yes, if you blow quietly or slowly through a call it does sound like a party horn. For the proper effect, you have to blow loud and fast, in short (around one second) bursts, about a dozen times, then breaking for 30 sec to a minute and repeating as necessary. If you have it right, it should come out as a loud, shrill, primal scream. The first time I heard it, I got shivers down my back. It is just plain out weird.

This assuming that you have a wounded animal call, not a mouse squeaker.

Good luck! Blast the varmints!

Trapp

The one I use sounds like a wounded rabbit, which to me sounds like a baby crying, The loud short bursts are the correct way to use it. Yotes look for and easy meal and thats what a wounded rabbit is to them.

Rmouleart