Pre-Ban Gun versus Pre-Ban Magazine question

kayakersteve

First, I know we can not give each other legal advise, so let me be clear that I am not asking for that.I own a post ban NRA Mini and live in NY State. I was only allowed to get the 5 round magazines when I purchased it.
QUESTION: I am asking for opinions only: Would the use of an older Pre-Ban magazine (20 round) be legal with this gun?? I can not find any input on this reading what laws I am able to find. Let me know what any of you think, especially if you are from NY State

kayakersteve

The problem with that...

I have two friends that are sheriff's and they don't know.... I just wanted to know what other gun owners think.

sixsM4

Try the FAQ page on this site, if you haven't already - http://www.fulton-armory.com/M6Tools.htm.
Tons of good info on mags. I am a NYS resident myself, and I just bought some AR15 20 and 30 round mags from them, all of which are pre-ban, and legal to ship to upstate residents of NY.

The law is clearer as it applies to mags than it is as it applies to weapons - it states that the mags made before the '94 ban are lawful to possess. But it isn't as clear on the weapons themselves, saying that in order to be exempt from the ban they had to have been "LAWFULLY POSSESSED PRIOR TO SEPTEMBER FOURTEENTH, NINETEEN HUNDRED NINETY-FOUR. ", besides (obviously) having been manufactured prior to that date.
My question has always been "lawfully possessed" by WHO? The law seems to imply that it allows a person who already owned an assault weapon to keep it.
I hope I'm wrong, because I want to buy a pre-ban M4 soon, but I can't seem to find a clear answer on this.

rkba_net

Post ban weapons AND PRE-ban magazines in NYS are separate issues... just like with the Federal AW ban it is legal in NYS to use a PRE-ban mag in a post ban weapon...

sixsM4