Powder volume

FRANK1669

Hi Everybody I am new to Firing line and have a question I Use IMR 700x Powder almost exclussively in my hand gun loads for the reason that it reguires a small charge I can get 2-3 times the ammo out of a pound of powder over other powders Is ther an advandage to having the cases "fuller other than spotting a double charge easily?

croc4

depends

it really is dependent on what you are shooting and what accuracy you expect, etc, etc. There is some evidence that "fuller" charges will give more consistent burn and thus keeping pressures more consistent since the powder won't move in the case as much, etc, and this will tend to group better down range. But this is not a hard and fast rule and maybe not 100% provable, just what I have heard from different sources. I have not tried it myself so I have no personal knowledge.

But double charges is by far the best reason for using a fuller charge of powder.

Scorch

There is a lot of evidence that fuller cases give better accuracy due to more consistent flame travel. Also that low-density charges can detonate and give pressure spikes and inaccuracy.

There is also a danger of double-charging or triple-charging your cases with low bulk powders. Can you say KABLOOEY?

amamnn

powder level

For non competition handgun loads, it's not really a problem until and unless you reduce the powder charge to a ridiculous amount. Barring, as you say, double charging.

rickomatic

I, like a lot of shooters am getting back into reloading after a decade or two hiatus. Funny what the price of ammo does to a guy, huh? :D
Anyway, in my re-study of the issue, I came upon a question that I hope someone here can answer. By the way, I found this old thread via google. and thanks skeeter for the Lee Dipper chart listed above, because that is part of what I was looking for.
OK..here goes my question/dilema.