Powder-dirt question

cdoc42

I usually use Clays 4.0gr (max) with an Everglades 230gr FMJ bullet in my Kimber TLE II .45 ACP pistol. After reading about what appears to be traditional accuracy with Bullseye and W231/HP-38, since I have both, I thought I'd evaluate accuracy differences with all 3 powders.

I loaded 15 of each powder at max charges: Clays 4.0gr; Bullseye 5.3gr; and HP-38 at 5.8gr. I rechecked each charge and corrected anything over max while being satisfied with 0.1gr under max.

The results were interesting; at 12 yards, benched, iron sights, all 3 loads produced similar and acceptable groups. Using a 6-o'clock hold, Bullseye impacted in the center; Clays was slightly to the left and lower; HP-38 was higher and to the left. I considered this "acceptable" because previously I was able to hit 12 out of 12 bowling pins off-hand at 7- and 10-yards with Clays.

My major issue was cleaning the pistol afterward. One-inch of the muzzle on both sides was completely covered with black soot, but was quickly removed with KG-1 carbon cleaner. The top of the frame and the barrel had carbon deposits that were incredibly difficult to remove. I spent at least 45 minutes scrubbing the barrel, sequentially using KG-1, Gunzilla, G-96 Gun Treatment with cotton swabs and a .45 caliber Nylon brush, followed by a Remington Shotgun Cleaner wash. Each time the swabs were black and I could still see carbon embedded in the barrel grooves. Finally, 2 runs of 15 swabs using the Nylon brush encircled with copper strands from a proprietary pad-type cleaner saturated with Slip-2000 removed the rest of the carbon deposits.

I have not had this experience with Clays, so I assume either or both of the Bullseye and HP-38 played a role. Has anyone had a similar experience?

lll Otto lll

Wow, you used 5 different concoctions to clean the soot after only 45 rounds?
I suspect Bullseye is your culprit. Primers play a part in dirtiness as well.