ported barrels, are they any good?

mkiker2089

I've been day dreaming about my next purchase and I'm thinking about a Taurus Tracker 627. I'm interested to see what a ported barrel is like, especially on a revolver. I'd probably use 38 special all the time but I'd get a 357 so who knows.

Also, do ported barrels help more or less on the traditional semi-autos like the Performance line from Smith and Wesson.

stubbicatt

I have little experience, only one ported revolver, and only a few rounds through it. I found that the perceived muzzle flip is countered by the port, and the shot fall on target confirmed it.

I found this by shooting mild loads of WW231 and moderate loads of 2400 shot to the same point of aim using 357 magnum cartridges in a S&W 586 L-Comp.

Granted it was an unscientific test, but I found it interesting.

Someone will come along and give you better information.

leadcounsel

I'm indifferent on the topic.

I have a 4" Taurus .357 that's ported, and I recall feeling some but minimal difference. My carry gun is a G23 .40 that's ported. It was acquired in a trade and I've grown to really like the gun. But I wouldn't go out of my way to get one or avoid one.

The "science" is supposed to reduce recoil by 10 or 20%. I dunno.

Some will say it can "blind" you or cause "burns" if you have a close contact shot. Again, no clue but doubt these are real world issues.

I wouldn't overthink it or worry to much on the topic.

g.willikers

How well a compensator or ported barrel helps with felt recoil and reduced muzzle flip depends very much on the ammunition used.
The higher the pressure (and the higher the velocity) the better they work.
The stance and grip technique is also a factor.
A ported barrel can't overcome a weak grip and unbalanced stance.
Hope this helps and doesn't add to the confusion.

Dave Chuppa