Pneumatically reclaimed primers

2wheelwander

At the LGS and a vendor had pneumatically reclaimed small rifle primers he claimed came from reclaimed military ammo. $130/1000, which was the same price for new primers all around the show.

I have zero experience with these and was wary, not to mention his insanity of wanting the same money new primers were asking. They had some tarnish on them. Handling them there were a few grains of powder that fell out, but otherwise looked usable. Not knowing if they'd perform I didn't even make him an offer.

Anybody have experience with these or question their serviceability? I'm not paying those prices for new primers, but if they are fine, I'd have offered him half. What say you?

The primers have to be pushed on hard enough to overcome the crimp in the military ammo, so they've been subjected to some force from pretty high air pressure, I expect. However, that force will distribute and push on the primer foil directly and not on the anvil, so it shouldn't do that kind of damage. The one difference from a regular primer is these will have their bridge already set. That is, when a primer is seated, the military specs call for it to be "reconsolidated" by pushing the cup in about 0.003" beyond the point where the anvil feet contact the bottom of the primer pocket. This compresses the priming compound, setting the thickness of the amount of it that bridges the gap between the anvil tip and the bottom of the primer cup. With that already set, my expectation would be that you need to avoid further consolidation by seating them only to the point the anvil feet make contact with the floor of the primer pocket and no further. So they would need to be seated with a delicate touch.

44 AMP

Staff
I would not touch them with the proverbial ten foot pole.

If the asking price for reclaimed/salvaged/pulled down anything is the same as the asking price for new, somebody is ripping somebody off.