Play in Receivers

pwrstrkd

How much play should there be between the upper and low reciever. For example if an AR-15 is stood up with the stock on the ground and the barrel is rocked back and forth from the muzzle, should there be obvious wiggle and movement felt? At first thought it was the barrel :eek:

My Rock River has ZERO play between the upper and lower. I don't think it's typical to have play between the 2. If there is play, it's more than like due to a pin issue or pin hole issue...

Technosavant

Some play is indeed typical. Very few uppers and lowers fit with no wiggle, even from the same manufacturers. If it bothers you that much, you can put an Accu-wedge in it, but unless the slop is extremely excessive, it won't affect accuracy.

AK103K

Play is pretty common. Some are worse than others. Some have none at all.

I have a Bushmaster that had a lot of slop. It took a home made accu wedge (the real one wasnt big enough) and an "O" ring on the front lug to get it to stop wiggling.

My M&P 15 has a little, my Colt and Armalites, none at all.

nathaniel

My DPMS doesnt have much, but my brothers DPMS did have a ton of wiggle. I say did because he couldnt get groups any smaller than 3" at 100 yards while I was getting 1" or less with the same model gun. I took his gun, cleaned it up, retightened/remounted everything, and I put gasket cork in the lower reciever under the back pin until you had to actually force the upper and lower together to push the pin through. It tightened his groups up ALOT, hes getting groups less than .75" at 100 yards now. I dont know if it was the cork or the cleaning but he never could get groups under 1.5" even when it was new.

bigghoss