Pietta 1851 Wedge Removal

ClemBert

So as an engineer I have to ask this question....what kind of :mad::mad: jack azz :mad::mad: designs a firearm to use a wedge to hold a barrel onto a frame?...oh yeah, that'd be Samuel Colt. Sammy must have gone to the same school as those guys who design cars where you have to remove one of the motor mounts and jack the car engine up to remove the oil filter.

Okay, next question. Anyone have any suggestions for removing said wedge out of a Pietta 1851 Navy revolver? So I turned a copper penny on is side and held it with a pair of plyers on the right side of the wedge and beat on it until the copper penny was destroyed. Wedge didn't even budge. The wedge is sitting almost flush on the right hand side. Maybe I just need to shoot the crap outta it one day with the largest charges I can fit in the cylinder...maybe that'll loosen things up.

So far I'm a big fan of the Remington 1858 and the ROA. Sammy can bite me on the azz for now. :eek:

ClemBert

Did you leave out the part where I'm supposed to wait until a full moon then stand on my head and bark while beating on the penny? :p

Pictures006-1.jpg

Hawg

Did you leave out the part where I'm supposed to wait until a full moon then stand on my head and bark while beating on the penny?

Dang, I knew I was forgetting something.:p I figured it was a zinc penny you were using. Might try heating it in boiling water first or get a brass punch. If you're careful and have a piece of scrap leather you might try a steel punch. Wedges are pretty tight in a new gun. However the more they're removed the easier it gets.

madcratebuilder

So I turned a copper penny on is side and held it with a pair of plyers on the right side of the wedge and beat on it until the copper penny was destroyed.

Copper penny=incorrect tool.