P38 question

htshot

I have a P38 pistol 1968 model that when fired the rear sight and cover in front of it flies off. What can I do about this? Using factory 9mm ammo.

44 AMP

Staff
Take it to a gunsmith...do not fire it anymore

And do the second thing first. I'm not a big expert on the P-38, but no pistol is supposed to have parts fly off when it fires. If this is wrong, who knows what else might be wrong, or getting reaqdy to go wrong. I do know that the P-38 hammer drop safety can fail, and when it fails the gun can fire when the safety is put ON!

Get thee to a gunsmith, one who either knows P-38s, or is willing to find out. DON'T shoot it any more until a qualified gunsmith gives you the OK!

sholling

I'm going to echo 44's advice. I've had several over the years and all were flawless. If things are falling off it's time to find a good smith.

highrider

Htshot,

I just bought a P1 and this advice was left for me over on "the high road":

"The P-38/P1 ejects to the LEFT and you may get an occasional case bounced off your head.

Otherwise, NO hot ammo, or heavy bullets.
These guns were designed to work with 125 grain ammo, and will work nicely with 115 grain, STANDARD LOAD. Again, no hotter ammo or heavier bullets.

Also, no "heavy-duty" springs.
Hot ammo and/or heavier springs will cause frame and slide cracks.

Do not remove the slide cover unless you have NO choice. It's easy to spring or mis-assemble, and will blow off, scattering parts.

Other than that, the P1 is a fun to shoot gun."

pistolet1