Opinions please on my Remington L45AP7 JHP ammo

Raider2000

I have 2 .45's, a WWII issue M1911A1 which shoots great, & a Essex Framed 1991A1 which is also a super shooter, & ever since I've had my M1911A1 I've used 2 diffrent loadings of ammunition through it & ofcorse with the newer one as well.

For mostly range practice I use the:
Remington UMC L45AP4 230gr. Ball. Chronoed out to be 839FPS. AVG. "836-842"

For defence & occasional practice I use:
Remington UMC L45AP7 230gr. JHP. Chronoed out to be 838FPS. AVG. "834-842"

A friend of mine told me that this isn't a great deffence round being that it is a little dirty, unreliable hollow point, & that Remington's websight states "For practice, target shooting, training exercises."

Now I've been using this ammo for several years now & both weapons shoot it reliably & quite accurately "1911A1 = 2 inch group avg. @ 15 yards" but to be honest I've never tested the abilities of the Hollow Point to check it's performance, also since my M1911A1 is an older weapon I do not want to use +P ammo for possiblility of damage but am curious as to weather there is something else I should be using for this purpose.

Has any one used this ammo?
Do any one think it would be a good deffencive round? if not do anyone know of another JHP that would fit the bill better but not +P?

Thank You
Raider.

fairview mick

To Raider