Opinion: Are these primers flattened?

Jeffdg

Okay - I'm using what I think are safe loads - though it's darn near impossible to find good load data for .40 S&W w/180 gr FMJ. Some of these loads have less recoil than factory ammo (e.g. Winchester 165 Gr bullet).

So, the picture shows three loads (left three columns) and new reloads (right column) for primer comparison. I'm new to all this reloading and want to be sure I am not over (or under for that matter) loading.

The loads are as follows from leftmost column to right: all using 180 Gr. FMJ bullets and Winchester primers.

1. 4.6 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
2. 4.9 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
3. 5.2 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.160"

So, what do you think, are these flattened?

....If so, do you have suggested recipes for this (same bullet... but can use different powder if need be!).

Thank you!!

Attachments

• 40cal05cropped.jpg
    40cal05cropped.jpg
    115.3 KB · Views: 228

rwilson452

They look good to me. From your picture you look to be well with in the safe range

Okay - I'm using what I think are safe loads - though it's darn near impossible to find good load data for .40 S&W w/180 gr FMJ.

So, the picture shows three loads (left three columns) and new reloads (right column) for primer comparison. I'm new to all this reloading and want to be sure I am not over (or under for that matter) loading.

The loads are as follows from leftmost column to right: all using 180 Gr. FMJ bullets and Winchester primers.

1. 4.6 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
2. 4.9 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
3. 5.2 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.160"

So, what do you think, are these flattened?

....If so, do you have suggested recipes for this (same bullet... but can use different powder if need be!).
Thank you!!

DWARREN123

Look good to me but I am half blind in my left eye and can't see good out of the right.
GLOCK pistol? I like 7.3 to 7.5gr of Longshot for 165 to 180gr HP 40 S&W. Very clean and accurate.