Open Bolt & Closed Bolt - Please explain

Rich Miranda

OK, I am a regular poster in the Handgun forum. Many of you 'know' me. But I am a handgun guy, not a rifle guy - yet. Someday I will be but I have no storage place for long guns right now.

But I have an embarrassing question. Even more embarrassing than when I was 7 and watching my dad fill out a survey form and I asked him, "What's a les-bi-an?" in front of the female surveyor.

What does closed bolt and open bolt mean, and what is the significance?

I read gun mags and whatnot but they never define the terms, they just use them. They say things like, "It's a closed bolt so as not to anger BATFE" and so forth, but since I don't know what it means anyway, it mostly just doesn't make sense to me.

Please know that I'm swallowing my pride by asking like this. :eek: But if I know TFLers, I'll get lots of great information without being made to feel like an idiot. I hope. :)

zoomie

Since we're probably the only two guys awake at 3:30 in the morning, I'll give it a stab.

Open bolt: The bolt is open when ready to fire. Pulling the trigger slams the bolt forward, with the firing pin, and fires the round. They're now all Class III.

Closed bolt: The bolt is closed when ready to fire. Pulling the trigger moves the firing pin only, firing the round. It's what we're all used to.

Snuffy308

And with a FA open bolt gun when a firing sequence is ended the bolt is locked open and a round is not chambered, thus negating any chance of a cook off if the barrel is really hot from FA fire.

Tucker 1371

They're now all Class III.

My understanding of this is a little spotty as well, it's possible make an open bolt semi-auto right? What is BATFE's problem with an SA open bolt? Does anyone currently make any open bolt guns or are they considered machineguns off the bat?

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam