OK, what's the secret, 1911-lovers?

longeyes

I've got two of them and I like them a lot, but why can't I get my slide stop to insert all the way through often than not. Hey, I'm not that klutzy, trust me. The dang thing goes in but not flush. I'm new to this 1911 religion. Maybe you veterans out there can tell me what the secret is? Is it supposed to be hard? Do I have defective guns? What is it? Flame me if you like but a gun, great as it is, that becomes a nuisance to clean and maintain is a gun that one is not likely to shoot frequently.

Ledbetter

Careful

Careful you don't:

pull the plunger tube off the frame. OR

put an "idiot mark" scratch in the frame just under the slide stop cut.

The trick is, you need to push the slide stop/release UP and IN at the same time. You are probably just pushing it in.

To avoid pulling off the plunger tube when you have to uninstall a bad-installed slide stop, hold your thumb over it tightly and use something to relieve the spring pressure. Pull with your third hand.

I'd tell you how to avoid the idiot mark but two of my three have one too.

It's easy.

Andrew Wyatt

every single one of my 1911's has the idiot mark on the frame. (except the hard chromed one, but that's because the finish is harder than the slide stop)

sometimes it helps if you use a small screwdriver to lever the detent ball inwards.

Mr. James

gee, thanks, gents, I've got the idiot scratch from my first attempt at cleaning my SA .45.

oh, heck, it's a shooting gun, not a relic.

Cthulhu

A 1911 of mine came with the idiot mark already there, so I guess I lucked out on that one. As was mentioned previously, pressing up and in seems to work for me.

K80Geoff

All three of my 1911's have the idiot mark. Two came with the marks as they were used guns. The third I bought new and put the mark on it so it wouldn't feel like an outcast:D

I have learned the trick to re installing the slide stop, but still screw it up occasionally.