o/u lube points?

bigautomatic

To make a long story short, I aquired a fairly cheap turkish made O/U a little while back. It has seen somewhere in the neighborhood of 300 rounds in the last 6 months, and is very tight. Not sure of total rounds fired, but the gun looked like brand new when I got it. Upon opening, it is very smooth but very tight. I have little experience with O/U shotguns, so I would like to know the main parts of concern as far as wear, and lubricating those points to keep a less expensive gun from "shooting loose" prematurely. Thanks!

BigJimP

I use "Rig grease" on the hinge pin and ears where the barrel connects to the receiver. I also grease the "lug" where the forend connects to the barrels.

On the screw in chokes / I use "Break Free" oil ...

On the firing pins, springs, etc inside the receiver - I use a light spray oil - with preservative in it / like "Rig oil" ..

When a gun is real tight / and on any gun for that matter - I'm especially careful to move the locking lever to the side as I close the gun and lock it firmly / but I don't slam it together. Clean it every time you shoot it / renew all the grease ...and it'll loosen up a little...

bigautomatic

Thanks guys. I disasembled as far as I could without scaring myself, and cleaned all the gunk out. It was actually surprisingly clean though. I used some pistol slide grease to lube all the pivot points and such, just what I had on hand. Seemed to work fine. I put another 150 rounds through it on Saturday, and cleaned the first 25 birds without a miss! (thats a near impossibility for me). Not so great for the rest of the day, but I'm fine with that. Ya gotta start somewhere.

oneounceload

Excellent scores!....Just remember to clean and regrease those areas as grease is also a crud magnet and grit and grease will cause too much wear and tear. Grease works well on choke tubes (especially an anti-seize type), but any good gun grease works on wear points while oil works for a good wipe-down