Now everyone is a scrounger?

chris in va

Seems more and more people are scrounging brass at the range I use. Last year it was just myself and maybe one or two other guys harvesting, but last weekend it seemed like every other person was hunting their caliber. The last few stalls were picked clean of everything but 22LR.

l98ster

My range is open to the public thursday, friday, saturday, sunday. The other days are strickly used by every local police station and county police for training.

When I go there on thursday morning, there is usually a new 5 gallon bucket half full of once fired .40s&w.

Since I have been shooting there twice a week for the last 10 years, I have made good friends with the range officers. They give me anything I want as far as brass is concerned.

This is not to mention all the other brass that is left by everyone else. Seems that brass is NOT a problem for me.

-George

FrankenMauser

I've seen the same phenomenon plenty of times. Just wait for the reloaders that don't enjoy doing it to burn out, and ammo prices to stabilize or dip a bit.

Suddenly, you'll be ankle deep in beautiful brass again. The "flavor of the month" reloaders will be going back to their "cheaper" factory ammo, and dropping brass like it's the plague.

Brass availability ebbs and flows...

Young.Gun.612

Range I go to has rules posted. No collecting brass unless it is of your caliber and the type of brass you use. They resell it.

Wildalaska

My problem is with the guys who crawl between the benches while you are shooting to crow your carefully sized brass:eek:

WildbackyoubeastbackAlaska TM

Dodge DeBoulet

At our club, there seems to be a slow, round-robin progression in calibers . . . 9mm brass was plentiful, but .40S&W was scarce. .45ACP was a bit easier to come by. Now the .40S&W seems to pile up and the .45ACP is tough to scavenge. 9mm is becoming a bit scarcer.