Not So Perfecta

Grey_Lion

It astounds me that out of the 1000+ .45 range brass I'm working on, I only have 4 PERFECTA.
And I'm glad as I can't say I trust a brass producer that can not once center their primer flash hole......... see attached,

Thoughts on whether it actually matters from our experienced band of rogues?

I'm of the opinion a miss-aligned flash hole may cause an uneven powder burn and result in heavier GSR residue and smoking.

Attachments

• not so perfecta.jpg
    not so perfecta.jpg
    235.4 KB · Views: 110

2wheelwander

I am no scientist and a novice reloader at best, but I wouldn't worry one whit about an off center flash hole. Thats like indexing spark plugs to get the last .00001% of combustion on an extreme high performance engine.

Unless you are shooting long range competition at a high level I'd have at it. The last round went bang and your gun didn't blow, so . . . .

reddog81

I’d toss the 4 cases in the trash. I’d be more concerned about bending a decapping pin next time I reload the cases.

big al hunter

And I'm glad as I can't say I trust a brass producer that can not once center their primer flash hole.........

They're not centered...but they are consistent:D. Good opportunity to experiment a little and see if you notice a difference.

Geezerbiker

I've heard the same about their .223Rem brass but I bought a box of Perfect .270Win for my grandson's rifle and all the primer flash holes are centered.

I bought a bag of once fired .223 at a local gun shop some years back. It was supposed to be split between Rem and Win cases but more than half was PMC. I'd say about half of the PMC cases had the flash hole off center. The bag was still a good deal.

I processed about 500 PMC cases and I'll load and shoot them out of my AR15 when it's finished. That way I won't care if I loose some of them while I'm dialing in the extraction...

Tony

Old 454

In 223 when I find Perfecta cases they go in the brass recycle bucket.