Norinco USA?

Willie D

http://www.norinco-usa.com/#

Last week the website said AK-47s and M14s coming 2009.

I thought that maybe they were importing receivers then making them "American" with compliance parts as per 922r. This "explanation" doesn't explain much. Maybe it's a front?

The whole canceled trademarks bit and use of the logo seems strange. If you had nothing do with Norinco besides buying their tooling, why name yourself "Norinco"?

KDM

I dunno...name recognition, maybe? If this Norinco-USA venture could relieve itself of prior political and legal problems, they've got a leg up on other startups by having a name lots of people are familiar with.

That's a stretch, I know. All I could come up with.

Dave85

I suppose they expect that the name has some caché amongst value buyers who will give it a look when they see it on their dealers shelves. Norinco, for better or worse (I have no experience with their products), was a well known brand in it's time. Maybe they believe also that it will be easier for them to resurrect old dealer relationships than to start up new ones.

ballistic_trep

I would be really surprised if Norinco actually has enough M14/M305's for the American market! Thousand's of these fantastic rifles have already been sold in Canada(listed as non-restricted up here) and rumour has it that the supply is getting low as these rifles are assembled from stored parts.....there is no new manufacturing happening overseas(that anyone knows of....and for all we know there may be tens of thousands of stored receivers somewhere). But if a good supply still exists.....hopefully that means the prices will stay low on both sides of the border.

The "message from our president" on the website says Norinco didn't maintain their trademarks so he decided to take the name for his own company. He is making everything in the US. No importation of anything as far as I can tell.