noob question, can someone explain quad lock?

mkiker2089

gun newbie here. I don't understand a lot of the technical details yet.

I'm looking at the Sccy CPX-3 that is coming out (research only, I'm happy with 9mm.) CPX=3

In it they mention the Quad Lock system that holds the barrel tighter. Is this really a good thing? We've had the giant recoil thread that pretty much says the bullet leaves before the slide moves. Is locking the barrel a huge improvement. They plan on changing the 9mm guns to match the 380 with the quadlock.

In short I own a CPX-2 and want to know exactly how envious I need to be about the new models coming out.

If the improvement is simply making the slide easier to rack I'm not concerned as the rack moves easily enough now.

lee n. field

gun newbie here. I don't understand a lot of the technical details yet.

Sounds like BS to me.

Roebuck designed a new system called the Roebuck Quad Lock System. A simplified explanation is the system uses the tension on the rear of the barrel to press the front of the barrel into a V-channel. This eliminates virtually all barrel wiggle that is common on most, non-fixed barrel pistols. The theoretical result is a gun that is more accurate, but still operates for the user like a typical locked breech pistol.

This thing's a Kel Tec clone.

mkiker2089

Skans said:
None of my guns have any detectable "barrel wiggle".

That's part of what confuses me. When the slide forward there isn't any real barrel wiggle. If I pull up the slide may wiggle up a bit but that's not normal use either.

With the slide back there is a lot of barrel wiggle on a Sccy. Almost half an inch of it rocking up and down, side to side. Does that matter however? I know the slide moves back at some point when firing but does it affect accuracy at all?