Noob needs hunter help

shredder4286

I'm not gonna puff myself up here, guys- i'm a straight noob to the hunting world. being stuck in the desert for a while yet, i have a lot of time to think and plan things for when i come home.

If you knew what you needed to hunt whitetail deer in say- Colorado, and all you had was a rifle and a scope, what gear would you go and buy? i'm talking camo clothes, scent cover, stands, etc. what do i really NEED to get me out in the woods so i can bag a deer?

thanks,

noob:p

hooligan1

Attitude is a big part of hunting whitetails, if you really get into it, there's alot to pick up on knowledgewise. Yes there is some certain gear a guy needs to carry but that's secondary to having hunting knowledge of the whitetail. The best way to pick up on this,(it is what I did) is to use hunting videos, how-to videos. They will take you from totally newb to educated hunter. Also watching other hunters being successful will give you more confidence, in what their trying to teach you.:) Dude hunting deer is the biggest blast!!:D Now hunting in Colorado is something I haven't done ever, so other members will have to share their insight. Thanks for getting my six out there man. and be safe.:D

shredder4286

Originally posted by Hooligan1 The best way to pick up on this,(it is what I did) is to use hunting videos, how-to videos. They will take you from totally newb to educated hunter

i have a few whitetail-huntin vids on my laptop here, and there are some things i picked up on from them. However, alot of the hunting these guys are doing are on reservations, or places where it's a low-stress environment for the deer. Not to say these deer aren't "wild", but they aren't exactly rough and tough'n it, when they have clover plantations everywhere...:cool:

hooligan1