nipple wrench for Colt Walker?

maillemaker

Hi,

My little nipple wrench that came with my 1851 Navy revolvers seems too small for the nipples in my Colt Walker repro.

What do you use for a nipple wrench for them?

Thanks,

Steve

Fingers McGee

Universal nipple wrench from the Possible Shop

Universal Nipple Wrench 45-016 $26.95

Unfortunately, they're out of stock right now.

Hawg

I do believe Fingers knows what he's talking about. I have no experience with Walkers or the aforementioned nipple wrench but if Fingers tells you something you can take it to the bank.

robhof

robhof

I'm glad I got mine on Ebay, paid a lot less and it was even a signature series nipple wrench.:D:p

maillemaker

No disrespect intended to Fingers but the wrench he speaks of says:

"Fits 1851 - 1860 - 1858 & 1862 model Cap & Ball Revolvers."

Maybe it also fits the 1847 Walker but it is not advertised as doing so like the Walker wrench on the same page.

Anyway it is out of stock so I bought the Walker wrench. I bought a ratchting musket nipple wrench also. We shall see how it does.

Steve

Fingers McGee

No disrespect intended to Fingers but the wrench he speaks of says:

None taken. I've found only a few revolvers the universal wrench didn't fit. An older Armi San Palo '51 Navy being one. While I haven't tried it on every revolver, it does fit my ASM and Uberti Walkers. I've never tried it on a 2nd Gen or Sig Series Colt.

Doc Hoy

Just take the cylinder out of the frame

Clamp it real tight in a vise. Don't use any padding because you really want the teeth on the vise to grab hold of the cylinder and keep it in place.

Then get some slip joint pliers. Latch onto one nipple and turn as hard as you can until the pliers slips off of the nipple.

On the stubborn nipples a ball peen hammer and a number two flat blade screwdriver used as a chisel will loosen them up.

. . . . . . Just in case you missed it, this entire post is a joke. Don't do anything in it.

Darto