Next handgun?

CMichael

I am relatively new to handguns.

I got a Glock 19 for my CPL, and simply to have fun.

I have been doing the range thing about 3x a week, and I am getting more proficient with it.

My question is what should be my next handgun?

I want to stress that I am pretty new to handguns.

Bascially, I want to have fun, but it would be cool to be able to use it for concealed as well.

So what do you guys suggest?

This is me this morning at 5-10 yards.

Range0623105-10yards.jpg

This is me this morning at 20 yards

Range06231020yards.jpg

I am showing these pictures so you know where I am at.

Thank you.

I appreciate the input.

I want to spend about $500.

Last edited:

KyJim

You could stick with the Glocks since you are familiar with the platform. A G26 would be even more compact than your 19.

If you are looking for a bit of variety, you might consider a Commander or CCO sized 1911. They both have a 4.25 inch barrel which is easy to conceal because it's flat. A CCO sized frame is a bit shorter and holds one less round. The downside is that they can be a bit on the expensive side -- $700 to $800 and up.

pythagorean

Your Glock is already in a reasonable caliber and is concealable.
Since you have a centerfire (9mm) which is very versatile perhaps considering a .22 rimfire is another idea.

I'd suggest any of these:

17-3 Smith and Wesson
PB170598.jpg

41 Smith and Wesson
PA170006.jpg

Colt New Frontier .22/.22 WMR
130.jpg

The .22 will teach you things to improve your shooting.

glockopop

If you can master the trigger on a double action revolver, you'll be able to shoot anything well. I'd suggest a S&W K frame.

Sevens

The main reason you need a .22LR pistol is because you can shoot five hundred rounds for pretty close to the same money as 50 rounds of most other handgun ammo.

The trigger time and practice time will make you a better shot. It's a blast, they are easy to shoot and easy to shoot very well -- they inspire confidence.