Newbie to shotguns

epic4444

while ive never shot a shotgun i know that the 12 ga has some pretty harsh recoil...so i was thinking maybe for my first i should go with a 20 ga? is the recoil difference that noticable? or should i just man up and get the 12...and im going to probably get a stoeger side by side uplander

nate45

I don't know what your intended uses will be but a 20ga will difinatly recoil significantly less than a 12ga if that is your main concern. The smaller gauge requires more precise shots when hunting due to the decreased shot capacity. You also have less buckshot or slug weight and diameter for defense. I prefer the 12ga for both uses the recoil is more than a 20ga but is not to bad with a good pad and a good tight hold to the shoulder.

Last edited:

Mainah

I'm relatively new to shotguns myself. The recoil from the 12 isn't as bad as I'd thought it would be, not bad at all with bird shot. I really recommend shooting a 12 before you make a decision.

Smitty in CT

Recoil has NOTHING to do with whether the gun is a 12GA or a 20GA.

There are several factors that produce recoil:

chuckhawks.com [url said:
http://www.chuckhawks.com/shotgun_recoil_table.htm[/url]

Wb = Mass of the load (Shot + wad) (in grains)
MV = Velocity of the load (usually in feet per second)
Wp = The weight of the powder (usually in grains)
Wr = The weight of the gun. (in lbs.)
E = Recoil energy in FT LBS

E = 1/2 (Wr / 32) (Wb x MV + 4700 x Wp / 7000 x Wr)squared

Take a 12GA or 20GA and if you use a 1 ounce load @ 1200 fps and the same weight of powder.

A 7.5 pound 12GA will acually have LESS recoil than a 7.0 pound 20GA.

The main thing to consider is what the gun's intended use will be. If you are looking to shoot skeet then a 20 GA will work fine. If you plan on hunting Duck or Geese, then a 20 GA will not allow you to shoot as powerful a payload as are available to the 12GA.