Newbie questions re: .38Spl bullets

carguychris

Howdy all,

I'm a newbie reloader preparing to order my first batch of equipment. :D I've done my research (this site, others, "ABC's of Reloading" book) so I pretty much know what I need in terms of the gear. I've accumulated several hundred rounds worth of brass in preparation for this moment. :cool: However, I'm thinking about buying some bullets with my initial order too. Questions:

1) Do cast lead bullets normally come lubed in the package?

2) I'm tempted to try Rainier LeadSafe bullets since they seem to have earned good reviews online (this forum included), they're inexpensive, and I happen to like my brain cells. ;) The question: Do they need to be lubed?

3) My reloading will initially be for informal paper punching and plinking; I don't hunt, and I'm not going to handload SD ammo until I know what I'm doing. :) What's a good "old standby" bullet weight and configuration to start out with for .38Spl?

Thanks!

Jim Watson

1. Yes.

2. No.

3. 158 gr roundnose. It will do nearly everything except provide much "stopping power." (I have been handloading since 1970 and I still don't think I know enough to load defensive ammunition.)

Sevens

I'm curious about the desire for the plated bullets to keep your brain cells in good shape. Do you do a lot of indoor shooting in a poorly ventilated range? If not, don't chew the bullets and you should be pretty safe from brain cell killage.

If you do a lot of indoor shooting in a poorly ventilated range, the primer dust will kill whatever the lead particles don't get!