New to TFL, could use input!

tom98390

First I would like too introduce myself. My name is jason, 20 years old and I have been shooting rifles and pistols for about 6 months now. The is the first firearm fourm I have joined, and I joined it because everyone here (almost) seems too be very helpful.

Ive been thinking of my first pistol for along time now (as I still have a long time tell im 21) and I am really stumped on what too get. I havent gotten to shoot that much, but what I have shoot is a s&w .22 witch was fun and I was able to make some sort of grouping with it (3.5 inch at 15 yards) but I am really looking for somthing alittle more powerful.The other gun I have shoot a few times is a 9mm hk. I hated it. Well first I wasent ready for the recoil as I own a 9mm carbine and have shoot it with no problems. Second well there never was a second because I never was able too get past the recoil. And i know what everyones thinking "recoil on a 9mm??" but im not sure if it is just the hk line or the 9mm cal. but it think it will take alot for me too get over it. Any sugestions? Ive been looking around and I really like the look and style on any of the 1911's but there alittle out of my price range. Im looking for somthing sub-600$. Anyone have any ieads? Well I would just like to thank everyone in advance for there help

-Jason

Love&Hate12

Hello friend and welcome, you will recieve lots of good information here.

I'm 21 myself. Good grouping with the 22 by the way.

Th recoil jump from a .22 to a 9mm is very significant, however with practice the recoil with the 9mm won't be anything of a problem, the jump is what turned you off I promise. The HK line is fantastic and they are some of the softest recoiling guns I have ever shot, I use an HK .40 myself.