New to reloading. Quick questions about .357 mag.

Micahweeks

Hey, guys. I read the sticky and think I mostly understand how to get started with the equipment. I've never done this before, so I'm comletely green, but some YouTube videos and the sticky make it seem relatively easy to pick up. I think I can handle it. I haven't made any decision on specific make/model of equipment, yet, but I want to know first about the type of rounds I want to load.

These days, I mostly shoot .357 mag. It's my go to hog/whitetail/garden varmint round, and for hunting I've almost always shot 158 grain lead hollow points or my .308 for larger game at longer range. I like the way the 158 grains shoot, and I don't have a problem knocking down what I'm shooting at. So, this is what I want to start reloading if I go through with this. Is there anything specific to reloading this type of round I should know? Brass type? Bullet type (have no idea on where to even look for bullets like this)? Primers (again, don't know much about these, either)?

Thanks ahead of time for your answers!

Last edited:

Shootest

The 158g bullet is mostly the standard for 357mag, nothing special about it at all. Lots of places to buy just Google it. I like/recommend CCI or Winchester primers. Remington have always been good also, just cost to much more lately. I use a lot of Starline brass but any once fired will work.
GOOD LUCK

1stmar

There is nothing uniquely different about 158gr bullets. Lots of makers for both lead bullets and jacketed. Good source for a variety of reloading supplies is midwayusa. You can browse by caliber and see the manufacturers and costs. Then start to look for the most economical supplier. Brass/primers are common, you'll need small pistol primers (magnum). Lots of makers of brass, starline, Winchester, Remington etc. any will work fine. Get a reloading manual before you buy any components and read it and select the loading components accordingly.

Micahweeks