New ProChronoDigital

swampy308

Ok I have never used a chronograph before today, and I know you can get erratic readings sometimes and this is what I got with my first string of shots.
1. 634
2. 651
3. 688
4. 652
5. 692
6. 627
7. 664
8. 1119
9. 674
10. 673
Shot from 4.25" colt commander extreme 230 gr hp over 5 gr win 231 oal 1.255, got a couple questions.

First the 8th shot didn't feel or sound different so I guess was just a bad reading for what ever reason, is this correct?
Second how much faster can I load this bullet?

swampy308

I deleted the 8th shot and came up with an average of 661.6 FPS.
I started out at 4.6gr and worked up to 5.0gr.
Going to creep on up and see if I can find a more accurate load.

First, let me applaud you for starting low and working up instead of just assuming the middle of the range is OK. From both Hodgdon's data and QuickLOAD, it appears to me your velocity should be higher—about 760 to 790 fps—than you have.

So my first question is, how far from you was the chronograph? If it was less than 10 feet with a pistol, the readings may be suspect. Shorter ranges than that work sometimes but not other times. The issue is muzzle blast and powder particles cause the first screen to trigger before the bullet actually arrives, causing a false low velocity reading. In the extreme, I am aware of one .338 Lapua Magnum rifle that would not stop false triggering until it was set 18 feet in front of the muzzle. I never use less than the SAAMI standard 15 feet with an optical chronograph (though I went over to the Lab Radar unit, so my two optical units don't see much service now).

If you have a friend with a chronograph, ask to set theirs up in series with yours to see how close the readings are. This will give you a cross-check on light conditions, too.

Nick_C_S

Along the lines of Unclenick's post: I chrono at 4 yards - seems to be far enough out for what I'm doing (pistol {many calibers}; and the occasional .223 AR.)

swampy308