New hunter...looking for gun and caliber help

Big Dave

Hi,

Wow, I'm so stoked. I went on my first deer hunt in Molokai this weekend. What beautiful country. I'm hooked.

I borrowed my friends Ruger M77 30.6 and it worked fine. I asked the guide about which caliber to get and he suggested the following.
  • 7mm Mag

I'm new to rifles and don't have any preferences to a model, design or caliber. I plan to mostly hunt Axis deer on Molokai with an occasional deer hunt in West Texas and Louisiana.

On Molokai the range is generally between 100 to 250 yards. There could be longer shots but I'm not sure that I would be comfortable doing that.

I'd appreciate some input on guns / calibers to look into.
  • Budget: $2,500 range at the high end (not including scope). I'd be happy to spend less than $1,000 on the gun.
  • I'm open to some gun smithing on it (trigger / whatever)
  • I think I would prefer stainless.
  • Ammo can be pretty expensive in Hawaii. Since I don't reload it would be nice to have something that is widely available and not super expensive for practice.

Here's some photos.

The buck was about 175 pounds.
IMG_2542.JPG

This was the ridge I took the shot from.
IMG_2546.JPG

Some views of Molokai Ranch
IMG_2550.JPG

IMG_2551.JPG

Full moon going up.
IMG_2561.JPG

Getting into position above a watering hole the next morning.
IMG_2575.JPG

Thanks for the help,
Dave

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus
100-250 yards on deer?

243Win. No question. 243 is the perfect deer gun if you don't load your own ammo and still a darn fine choice if you did load. 7mm-08 is my favorite but factory ammo is pricey.

You certainly don't need a magnum anything.

stu925