Need scope for AR varminter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nemsis

I've been looking through old posts and can't find what I need so I'll ask here

I need a scope for a .223/.556 20" AR varmiter mostly for target shooting 100-300yrds and maybe I'll actually take it varmit hunting.

I will admit I'm a complete rookie when it comes to scopes so bare with me, I'm not trying to spend $1500 but I don't want a $80 piece of junk either I think I can find what I need from $300-$600.

I'm not sure what power I need but I want to be able to see the X ring at 200yrds so I think atleast a 12x , also I'm not sure what reticle to use I like the Leupold varmit hunter but I'm open to what works best.

itman

I received a Leupold VX-II 6-18X40mm linkfor Xmas and love it. It's on top of a 300 WIN Mag so I can shoot 600 yards. At 200 yards I not need my spotting scope to look at the target.

Last edited:

armedtotheteeth

itman-- that link leads me to a nice perty blank screen. Im 1nterested. I might get another leupold rifleman. I got on on my AR30 in 300 WIn and it has been flawless. about 1000 rounds or so. It holds zero like a champ. Last shot was a boar-at about 1000 yards. He was dead in the bushes when i got there a half hour later.
I paid $250 for it at wALLY WORLD. 4-12x

stubbicatt

At higher magnification that scope will appear quite dim. The ideal exit pupil is about the size of your pupil fully dilated. You are looking at between 4.5mm to 5mm exit pupil for ideal light transmission.

High magnification is not as important IMO as is clarity. I have difficulty holding much more than 7x, so I have found for my purposes a 6x is about right. I don't see a need for a variable for prairie dog shooting out to about 500 meters or so.

If you can get a mildot type reticle, do consider it. It makes range estimation much easier with the "Mildot Master" slide rule.