Need help with 1911

KS1911

I have a taurus 1911 that I had the frame completely disassembled with the slide taken off and had it in this condition for about 5 days. Now when I went to put the gun back together, I can not get the slide to go any further than what would be basically battery. It will not move rearward any further. I stripped the frame down once again and am now working with the frame and the slide (no barrel, guide rods or spring) and am still having the same issue. The gun was able to rack perfectly before this. What have I done?

44 AMP

Staff
1911a1

I have no experience with the Taurus, so I cannot give you specific instructions. But I do have extensive experience with the original 1911 design, and a little bit of experience with the modification called "series 80".

Look at your frame and see if there are parts sticking up, near the disconnector, on one side (Colts had them on the left). This is the linkage for the "firing pin lock", and may need to be pressed down in order to reinstall the slide. Alternately, check the slide (underneath) to see if your gun maker put the troublesome thing there.

Another possibility is that you have not reassembeled the sear/disconnector/sear spring correctly. If these parts are not free to move, you will have a problem.

Sorry I don't know how the Taurus differs from the base 1911, but sometime the details are important. Any chance of pics?

KS1911

The taurus is very close to the colt series 80. I originally had thought that there was some issue with the disconnector or such so I stripped the frame back down and still no luck.

tegemu

I find that fiddling a LOT with the slide will usually free up a recacritant slide. Whenever you disassemble a 1911, you should not depress the grip safety while disassembled, this will often cause the problem you are encountering. Remember a law of mechanical devices, if it requires excessive force - something is not right.

KS1911