need advice on CC pistol

tackdriver

I'm thinking about purchasing a pistol for concealed carry/self-defense. I'm fairly proficient with both rifles and shotguns, but I've only handled pistols a few times and it was many years ago.
I'm a student though and unfortunately I don't have a decent income. I've been looking at the Kahr semis but can't afford one new. Anyone have any advice on brand/model/caliber?
FYI, I'm a 180lb male if that makes any difference in pistol selection.

Vee

Tackdriver,

I carry a Kimber Ultra Elite .45 and sometimes a Kimber Pro Carry .45 or Colt Lt. Wt. Commander .45. I am 5' 8" and 180. Also, occasionally carry a Colt Agent .38.

However, if you are considering cost, several LEO's suggested that a Ket-Tec 9mm is a gun weapon for about $290--in the Atlanta area. You will find many suggestions on TFL and all will be good. Your choice should be based on your personal needs and circumstances.

Vee's .02

------------------

Big Al

Well, I'm no expert, but I can suggest a few-