Need a little guidance with crimping please.

Davey

I got a LeeLoadmaster and I'm trying to get a feel for the thing. I'm trying to load 45 ACP.

I'm using a Lee Carbide Factory crimp die in station 5. In station 4 I'm using the standard bullet seating/crimp die. I adjusted it to not crimp per the instructions.

When putting the round up into station 4 I feel resistance which I'm guessing is normal but I don't feel any resistance in station 5. It just slides in and out which I'm guessing is not normal. I've adjusted it some but it feels the same.

Next part of my problem is that I'm a nosey kinda guy and the first thing I did with the carbide crimp die was take it apart. There is a sleeve inside and I'm not sure which way is the top or bottom. One end of the sleeve is smooth and greasy on the inside. The other end is clean but the inside edge is beveled.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

overkill0084

With the Lee FCD, a lot depends on what your loading. If you're using jacketed or plated bullets, you might not have much going on aside from a (hopefully) light taper crimp. I load a lot of cast, and occasionally there is a bit more work being done by the sizing portion of the die. Less is more, in this case. If it's not "sizing" you're fine, that simply means there is no need for it. As long as it's crimping correctly.

tom234

The standard crimp for .45 ACP is .469-.471". What does crimp measure ?
Adjust the FCD with the directions that came it or look online for Lee's video.
Right, the part you removed from the FCD does/casues the crimp. That said, I'd put the tapered end down.

Davey

Okay thanks for the replies.

Next question. Should the ram travel up as far with cases in the shell plate as it does totally empty?

Davey